Life Style, Uncategorized

Time Management Tips

Life can be messy, and if you don’t have a plan sometimes it feels like you are being dragged along with no clear end. Organization and time management have become essential parts of my life since becoming a student athlete. I’ve always fit time to run into my schedule but as a student athlete I can’t just go for 20 minutes and get back to work like I used to, I need to be putting in quality runs and workouts which take time. Here is what I have come up with to help me stay on track and get everything done each day.

1. Schedule Your Day 

If life is particularly hectic one day. plan it all out. Make a list of what needs to be done or where you need to go then put that list in a detailed time sheet. for example:

8am: wake up

8:30-9: breakfast

9:15-11:15: class project

11:30-1: Class

1-1:30: Lunch

ect….

2. Schedule Time to Eat

I know this seems silly but if I do not schedule time to prepare meals and eat, I will go hungry then binge later that night. Scheduling time to eat will take the stress out of finding time to eat and also give you a little break from working.

3. Use A Planner

I plan my life. My planner has all of my daily agendas, my homework assignment list, and even my workouts. Without my planner I would be lost and forget absolutely everything.

4. Make a Priority List

If I have so much to do in a day that I know it is simply impossible to fit everything in, I make a priority list. I prioritize based on what has the closest due date and what class/assignment/test matters most to me. If I have a major project due in a major specific class on Thursday, I will prioritize it over the test in my elective class on Friday. Priority lists help me focus on one task at a time and make sure I am giving the most time to the highest priority tasks.

5. Take a Break if you Need One.

Sometime in order to use time wisely and get work done effectively you just need to take a break. Take 20 or 30 min and just chill. Try not to think about your massive to-do list for that time and do something you enjoy. Maybe online shop or watch a quick episode of your favorite series. Veg out, regroup, and return to the grind feeling fresh after. In fact, this blog post was my break time!

Sometimes I feel like I’m drowning in the ocean that is my life. I have to really focus and get a lot done each day and it can be very hard if I am not organized or focused. These tips may be common sense but they are honestly things that I do each day in my attempt to be a good student, athlete, friend, and girlfriend.

Thank you so much for reading and feel free to comment any of your favorite time management and organization tips I may have missed!

 

Leave a comment